New Agriculture Committee Chair Appointed - WTRF 7 News Sports Weather - Wheeling Steubenville

New Agriculture Committee Chair Appointed

Posted: Updated:

Senate President Jeff Kessler, D – Marshall, announced today that Senator Ronald Miller, D-Greenbrier, has been appointed Chairman of the Agriculture Committee. 

Senator Miller is stepping down as Chairman of Enrolled Bills; however, he will continue serving as Vice-Chairman of Government Organization.

"Senator Miller's knowledge of agriculture and its importance to the state makes him an excellent choice to lead this committee," says Kessler.  "I look forward to working closely with him during the upcoming legislative session."    

Senator Miller says he is pleased with the appointment and appreciates the confidence President Kessler has in him.

"As a Senator who represents an area with a vibrant farming community, I am honored to receive this appointment," says Miller.  "Agriculture is a big part of West Virginia's heritage, and I am especially interested in working alongside my colleagues on local farm production issues.  This is a very exciting time."

Senator Miller was appointed Agriculture Chairman after Senator Walt Helmick, D-Pocahontas respectfully declined the appointment.    

The new Chairman of Enrolled Bills will be named on a later date.

Powered by Frankly