UPDATE: Jefferson County Must Meet EPA Standard - WTRF 7 News Sports Weather - Wheeling Steubenville

UPDATE: Jefferson County Must Meet EPA Standard

Posted: Updated:
MGN Online MGN Online


Interested readers may find the EPA's web page concerning Sulfur Dioxide designations here.



COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) - The Environmental Protection Agency has included five Ohio counties in its list of communities where concentrations of sulfur dioxide violate the national standard.
The federal agency on Thursday listed parts of Clermont, Morgan, Washington and Jefferson counties, as well as the entire Lake County, after air quality monitors in each of those areas registered higher than normal concentrations of the pollutant, which is generally released through the burning and processing of fossil fuels.
The Ohio counties are among more than two dozen areas in 16 states.
According to the EPA, these areas will have to develop and implement a plan to meet the sulfur dioxide standard set by the agency in 2010, when it was revised to improve public health protections, particularly for children, seniors and people with asthma.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Powered by Frankly