Two WV institutions of higher education will hold an inaugurate - WTRF 7 News Sports Weather - Wheeling Steubenville

Two colleges schedule inaugurations for Sept. 21

Posted: Updated:

On Saturday, Sept. 21, two West Virginia institutions of higher education will hold inauguration ceremonies welcoming new presidents.

L. Marshall Washington, Ph.D., will be inaugurated as New River Community and Technical College's third president at the Beckley-Raleigh County Convention Center in Beckley, WV. Dr. Brian O. Hemphill will be inaugurated as West Virginia State University's 10th president at Ahmed Williams Auditorium of Ferrell Hall.

The investiture ceremony at WVSU will feature remarks from Kay Goodwin, cabinet secretary for the West Virginia Department of Education and the Arts; Dr. Paul Hill, chancellor of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission; and Tom Susman, chair of the WVSU Board of Governors.

A home football game at Lakin Field featuring the Yellow Jackets against West Liberty will begin at 1 p.m., following the investiture ceremony. Tickets are required and will be available to purchase at the gate beginning at 11:30 a.m.

At the Student Plaza outside of the James C. Wilson University Union, there will be a post-game gathering with food and fellowship at approximately 4 p.m.

Washington came to New River in March 2013 from Harrisburg Area Community College in Pennsylvania. There, he served as vice-president of the Lancaster Campus. Hemphill has served as president of WVSU since July 1, 2012. Prior to WVSU, he served an eight-year tenure as vice president for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management and associate professor at Northern Illinois University.

Before NIU, he served as an associate vice chancellor and dean of students at the University of Arkansas-Fayetteville and associate dean of students at University of North Carolina-Wilmington.

Powered by Frankly