Nailers Announce 2014 Protected List - WTRF 7 News Sports Weather - Wheeling Steubenville

Nailers Announce 2014 Protected List

Posted: Updated:
The Wheeling Nailers, have announced their first roster activity for the 2014 offseason. On Monday, the team produced its Protected List, completing the first of four key dates in the month of June.

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish, provided the players protected meet the guidelines, as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players' Association, which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

1. Signed an SPC in 2013-14 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR
2. Signed an SPC in 2013-14, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR
3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR
4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR
5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2013-14 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR
6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.

The announcement of the Protected List will lead into three more significant events in June. On June 13th, all trades including future considerations must be completed. Two days later, on June 15th, Season Ending Rosters must be submitted, which will feature no more than 20 players per team. Finally, on June 16th, teams will have the opportunity to sign players who are either on their Season Ending Roster or are Unrestricted Free Agents.

The Wheeling Nailers Protected List consists of the following 24 players:
D Jake Areshenko
F Derek Army
F Shane Bakker
F Chris Barton
D Paul Cianfrini
F Tyler Fernandez
F Sahir Gill
D Barry Goers
D Myles Harvey
F Chris Higgins
D Andrew Hotham
F Chaz Johnson
F Jacob Lagace
F Peter Lenes
F Max MacKay
F Jack MacLellan
F Patrick McGrath
D Peter Merth
D Ryley Miller
D Mike Ratchuk
D Adam Ross
F Zack Torquato
F Jordy Trottier
F Scott Zurevinski

The Nailers open their 23rd season in Wheeling on Saturday, October 18th.
Powered by Frankly